The Time Press

Assembly elections 2022: Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Uttarakhand vote to elect new governments; key points | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Voting for Assembly elections in Goa, Uttarakhand and parts of Uttar Pradesh began on Monday. The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is the incumbent government in all these states.
In Uttar Pradesh, voting began in 55 assembly seats for the second phase today. The elections will be held to 403 assembly constituencies in seven phases. The first phase was held on February 10.
While Goa and Uttarakhand are seeing all of their 40 and 70 assembly seats respectively, going to polls in a single phase today. The results will be declared on March 10.
Detailed coverage
PM Modi urges people to vote in record numbers
A few minutes ahead of the commencement of Assembly elections in Goa, Uttarakhand and parts of Uttar Pradesh, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday urged voters to vote in record numbers and strengthen the festival of democracy.
“Polling will be held across Uttarakhand, Goa and in parts of Uttar Pradesh. I call upon all those who are eligible to vote today to do so in record numbers and strengthen the festival of democracy,” the Prime Minister tweeted.
UP Phase 2 polling
As many as 586 candidates are in the fray in this phase with the seats spread across Saharanpur, Bijnor, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Amroha, Budaun, Bareilly and Shahjahanpur.
Of the 55 seats, the BJP had won 38 in 2017 while the Samajwadi Party bagged 15 and the Congress two. The SP and the Congress had contested the last Assembly elections together.
UP elections 2022: Live updates
Of the 15 seats won by the SP, Muslim candidates had emerged victorious on 10. The areas going to polls in this phase have a sizeable Muslim population influenced by religious leaders of the Barelvi and Deoband sects. These areas are considered strongholds of the Samajwadi Party.
Prominent faces in UP polls
The prominent faces in the fray in this phase include Dharam Singh Saini, a Yogi Adityanath government minister who had switched to the SP before the polls. Saini is trying his luck from the Nakur Assembly segment.
Senior SP leader Mohammad Azam Khan has been fielded from his stronghold Rampur while UP’s Finance Minister Suresh Khanna from Shahjahanpur.
Khan’s son Abdullah Azam has been fielded from the Swar seat. He has been pitted against Haider Ali Khan, the heir of the Nawabs of Rampur, who is trying his luck on the ticket of the Apna Dal (Sonelal), a BJP ally.
Haider Ali Khan is the grandson of former MP Noor Bano.
UP Minister of State for Jal Shakti Baldev Singh Aulakh is contesting from Bilaspur, Minister of State for Urban Development Mahesh Chandra Gupta from Badaun and Minister of State for Secondary Education Gulab Devi from Chandausi. The former mayor of Bareilly, Supriya Aron, is contesting from Bareilly Cantonment on SP ticket.
Uttarakhand votes to elect new government
The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is seeking to retain power in the hilly state while Congress is hoping for a comeback. Both the Congress and the BJP have battled political instability in the state in the last two decades after it was carved out of Uttar Pradesh in 2000 during former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s tenure.
Uttarakhand elections 2022: Live updates
The BJP’s task is twin-fold– beat the anti-incumbency and also the electoral trend of the incumbent government voted out in the state. Uttarakhand, incidentally, has seen 11 Chief Ministers in the last two decades.
Prominent candidates in Uttarakhand
The prominent candidates of BJP are chief minister Pushkar Singh Dhami, his cabinet colleagues Dhan Singh Rawat, Satpal Maharaj, Yatishwarananda, Subodh Uniyal, Ganesh Joshi, Rekha Arya and state BJP president Madan Kaushik. Former Uttarakhand Congress president Kishore Upadhyay is trying his luck this time on a BJP ticket.
On the Congress front, former Chief Minister Harish Rawat, former minister Yashpal Arya, state unit president Ganesh Godiyal and Leader of Opposition in the fourth assembly Pritam Singh are trying their luck.
The new entrant into Uttarakhand politics, Aam Aadmi Party has fielded candidates on all 70 Assembly seats, with its chief ministerial face being Ajay Kothiyal.
Polling under way in Goa
Goa is witnessing a multi-cornered contest, with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and other smaller parties vying to make a mark on the state’s electoral scene.
To check the spread of Covid-19, voters have been provided hand gloves at the polling stations, an election official said. Over 100 ‘all-women’ polling booths have been set up in the state for the convenience of female voters.
The average number of eligible voters per booth in the state is 672, which is the lowest in the country, a poll official said.
Goa elections 2022: Live updates
The Vasco Assembly constituency has the highest number of 35,139 eligible voters, while the Mormugao seat has the lowest number of voters at 19,958, he said.
Prominent candidates in Goa polls
The prominent candidates include Chief Minister Pramod Sawant (BJP), Leader of the Opposition Digambar Kamat (Congress), former CMs Churchill Alemao (TMC), Ravi Naik (BJP), Laxmikant Parsekar (independent), former deputy CMs Vijai Sardesai (GFP) and Sudin Dhavalikar (MGP), late CM Manohar Parrikar’s son Utpal Parrikar and AAP’s CM face Amit Paleker.
The Congress and the Goa Forward Party (GFP) are fighting the election in alliance, while the Mamata Banerjee-led TMC has tied-up with the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) to contest the polls.
The Shiv Sena and the NCP had also announced their pre-poll alliance, while the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP is contesting without a tie-up with any other political party.
The Congress has fielded 37 candidates, while ally GFP has fielded three. Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra campaigned for the party in the coastal state.
Voter turnout till 11am: UP 23.03%, U’khand 18.97% & Goa 126.63%
The voting percentage on Monday till 11 am in the second phase Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh was 23.03 per cent, 18.97 per cent in Uttarakhand and 126.63 per cent in Goa, according to Election Commission (EC) data.
The data revealed that while North Goa registered 26.26 per cent voter turnout, South Goa logged 26.95 per cent.
In Uttar Pradesh, Amroha district registered 22.99 per cent, Bareilly 20.68 per cent, Bijnor 24.51 per cent, Badaun 21.95 per cent, Moradabad 25.84 per cent, Rampur 21.58 per cent, Saharanpur 25.16 per cent, Sambhal 22.91 per cent and Shahjahanpur 21.55 per cent.
In Uttarakhand, Almora district registered 15.04 per cent, Bageshwar 16.60 per cent, Chamoli 17.58 per cent, Champawat 17.88 per cent, Dehradun 18.80 per cent, Haridwar 22.41 per cent, Nainital 20.63 per cent, Pauri Garhwal 16.46 per cent, Pithoragarh 14.96 per cent, Rudraprayag 19.39 per cent, Tehri Garhwal 16.61 per cent, Udham Singh Nagar 20.54 per cent and Uttarkashi 16.79 per cent at 11 am.
(With inputs from agencies)

Source link

Related posts

FCRA gives no chance to cert holder before suspension: Delhi HC | India News – Times of India


India believes in rule-based order: Meenakshi Lekhi on Ukraine crisis | India News – Times of India


Have impeccable career, don’t review ₹1,000 fine in 33-year-old case: Sidhu to Supreme Court | India News – Times of India


Leave a Comment