in ,

PM Modi Slams Opposition in Parliament, Accuses Congress of Spreading Misinformation and Anarchy

NEW DELHI: Replying to the Motion of Thanks on President’s address to joint sitting of both Houses of Parliament, Prime Minister Narendre, Mr. Modi without name Leader of Opposition Rahul Gandhi, took a potshot at him accusing him of misleading the House on the issue of Agniveer and MSP. He also said Mr. Gandhi is out on bail in a corruption case and is convicted for insulting the OBC community. He added that the Congress leader is also facing several defamation cases.

Prime Minister Modi accused the Congress of spreading misinformation on the Constitution and reservation and misled the people in the Lok Sabha polls. Mr. Modi alleged that Congress is spreading anarchy by its economic policies and divisive politics around castes and regions. He said, it is a serious matter that conspiracy is being hatched to level false allegations against a particular community.

Prime Minister Modi while warning the Congress said, its eco-system will be given a befitting reply for their conspiracies.

Mr Modi alleged that the Army did not even possess bullet-proof jackets during the Congress rule. He pointed to the Bofors scam and irregularities in submarine procurement during the erstwhile regime that hindered reforms in the armed forces.

The Prime Minister said in four states where simultaneous polls were held during the Lok Sabha election, NDA has got a resounding victory.

The Prime Minister also expressed grief at the loss of lives in a stampede in Hathras, Uttar Pradesh. He said the Government will provide all necessary assistance to the victims.

Opposition MPs were in the well of the House protesting on different issues, when the Prime Minister was making his speech. Speaker Om Birla expressed displeasure over the conduct of the Opposition and urged them to maintain order in the House but they continued with the sloganeering. Mr. Birla said their conduct in the house is not appropriate.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh moved a resolution condemning the ruckus created by Opposition MPs during the Prime Minister’s speech. Home Minister Amit Shah seconded the resolution and later it was adopted by the House by voice vote.

In the Rajya Sabha, participating in the discussion, Birendra Prasad Baishya of AGP raised the issue of inclusion of six communities of Assam in the list of Scheduled Tribes. He also talked about issues of illegal migrants in the state and stressed on the need to take steps to protect the identity of indigenous people of Assam. Mr. Baishya demanded that flood and erosion in Assam should be declared as a national problem.

BJP MP Ashokrao Chavan of BJP said that a wrong narrative was established during the election that his party intended to change the constitution. Mr. Chavan also talked about the NEET exam issue saying the culprits should be booked and fair investigation to be done and the government is clear about it. He said the President in her address talked about the achievements of the government in the last ten years and the future roadmap.

Congress MP Pramod Tiwari alleged that no steps have been taken to curb price rise in the country. He also said that there was also no mention of Manipur unrest in the President’s address. Mr. Tiwari further alleged that despite poll promises, BJP failed to give two crore jobs per year in the country. TMC MP Mohammad Nadimul Haque in his speech demanded that the government should publish a white paper on the amount of money that has been released to West Bengal under central schemes. Responding to some of his comments on Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju objected to them and said that one should not make personal attacks. Participating in the discussion, P Willson of DMK said that the NEET based examination system is against the poor and marginalised sections of the society. He said that Tamil Nadu has adopted the 12th examination marks based system for medical admission rather than selection based examination. He further added that NEET based examinations put tremendous psychological pressure on students and financial pressure on parents. YSR Congress MP Venkat Subba Reddy also talked about the NEET examination issue and demanded an increase in the number of seats in medical colleges. He also mentioned the strengthening of the public health infrastructure. CPI-M MP Dr. V Sivadasn raised the issue of the recent incident at Delhi airport terminal. Another CPI-M leader Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharyya said that poor people are suffering due to price rise and alleged that the government failed to curb price rise. TMC’s MP Samirul Islam raised the issue of alleged irregularities in medical examination.

Participating in the debate, Leader of the House Jagat Prakash Nadda hailed the President’s address, calling it a reflection of the government’s intentions. He praised the current economic situation of the country and called it the only bright spot in the world economy. Mr Nadda said, under Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s guidance, the country will go on to become the third-largest economy. He also hailed India’s glorious image on the world stage. The Leader of the House recalled successful schemes implemented since 2014. He said, in the last 10 years, under the PMGSY around 3.80 lakh Kilometres of roads have been constructed. Mr Nadda said, today, highways and expressways are being constructed on a large scale. He said, before 2014, 12.1 Kilometres of roads per day was built, but today 28.3 Kilometres of roads per day is being built. Mr Nadda said, before 2014, the banking sector virtually collapsed. He said, Narendra Modi Government brought reforms in the banking sector and the IBC was formed. Mr Nadda said, today, the Indian banking sector has become one of the strongest sectors in the world. He said, the profit of the public sector banks has crossed 1.4 lakh crore rupees in 2023-24 which is 35 per cent higher than last year.

Muzibulla Khan and Sulata Deo of BJD, P Wilson of DMK, Sandeep Kumar Pathak of AAP, Ravi Chandra Vaddiraju of BRS, Mahua Maji of JMM, Dr V Sivadasan of CPI (M), Dr M Thambidurai of AIADMK, Sanjay Raut of Shivsena, Ryaga Krishnaiah of YSRCP, Ramji Lal Suman of Samajwadi Party, Amarendra Dhari Singh of RJD, Nadimul Haque of TMC, Nominated Member Sudha Murthy were among others who participated in the discussion.

Written by Zamir Azad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Tragedy Strikes Uttar Pradesh: 116 Killed, 18 Injured in Stampede at Religious Congregation

India Allocates Additional Funds for Transit Houses at Madhu Shrine in Sri Lanka